Mat Williamson dominates Hall of Fame 100 at Weedsport

Following Thursday night’s 31st DIRT Motorsports Hall of Fame induction ceremonies, Sunday’s Super Dirt Series Hall of Fame 100 special for DIRT big-block modifieds drew in a fine field of 37 mods to this Route 31 oval.

Mat Williamson is the winningest driver in DIRT modified racing this year and he showed everyone on hand at Weedsport Sunday why he’s the best right now on the DIRT big-block tour.

The smooth-running St. Catharines, Ontario racer hounded leader Stewart Friesen in the first half of the 100-lap grind but slipped under the leader on the 59th circuit for the top spot and easily checked out for the $10,000 win.

It was Williamson’s 18th victory of the 2023 campaign and runs his career modified win total to 194. The second half of the event saw Matt Sheppard moved into the second spot, but the Savannah driver had nothing for the winner’s Buzz Chew Chevrolet modified.

Friesen came home a well-beaten third, with Tim Sears Jr., Dave Marcuccilli, Anthony Perrego, Chris Hile, Mike Mahaney, Chad Phelps and Jack Lehner making up the top ten finishers.


Matt Sheppard racked up his sixth U-R feature win of the year Friday night. The Savannah driver came from the 12th starting position and picked up the $2,400 top prize. Billy Decker and Justin Wright were second and third.


Watertown’s Billy Dunn picked up the DIRT 358 modified triumph Friday night at the Can-Am Speedway. Tim Fuller and Jordan McCreadie followed Dunn.


Second generation standout Ronnie Johnson won Friday’s modified feature at A-S, with Adam Pierson and C.G. Morey trailing.


Mat Williamson won Friday night’s 358 modified feature at the Ransomville Speedway for his 17th feature win of the 2023 season.

Land of Legends

After winning his first-ever DIRT big-block modified feature last Saturday, Zach Paine came right back to the Land of Legends Speedway and did it again this week. Peter Britten and Kevin Root were second and third.


Modified rookie Cody Clark won his first-ever main event Saturday, leading Alex Yankowski and Demetrios Drellos to the checkered flag.

Empire Super Sprints

ESS had a Friday night date at the Freedom Raceway and second-generation racer, Jonathon Preston, picked up the win. Shawn Donath and Kyle Drum were second and third.

Saturday night at the Woodhull Speedway, New Jersey’s Robbie Stillwaggon notched his first ESS feature win. Donath was again second, with point leader Jordan Poirier third.

ISMA/MSS supers

The ISMA/MSS supermodified Tour ran the two-day, Great Lakes Classic this Friday and Saturday at the Berlin (Michigan) Speedway.

Saturday night’s 60-lap main event was dominated by Mike Ordway Jr. and his Clyde Booth-owned super. Kyle Edwards, who won Friday night’s 40-lap preliminary feature, was a distant second. ISMA point leader Otto Sitterly ended up third.

Whelen Modified Tour

Justin Bonsignore survived a one-hour rain delay and a poor pit stop to come back and edge Doug Coby in a photo finish in Saturday’s Mohigan 100 modified race at the New Hampshire Speedway. Ronnie Silk was a tight third.

Eldora Million Week

The eyes of the sprint car world were on the Eldora (Ohio) Speedway this week, where their four-day, Eldora Million Week program paid out over two million dollars in purses.

30-year-old Logan Schuchart of Hanover, Pennsylvania became an instant millionaire Thursday night when he won the first-ever million-dollar-to-win sprint car race.

Carson Macedo got $100,000 for second-place and third-place finisher Brad Sweet picked up $50,000.

Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway came right back with the 40th King’s Royal special Saturday night. The 40-lap, $175,000-to-win main event saw Donnie Schatz win it for the sixth time. Brent Marks and David Gravel followed Schatz to the checkered flag.

Boston Louie Classic

The 29-lap, Boston Louie Seymour Midget Classic at the Seekonk (Ms.) Speedway Saturday night was won by Avery Stoehr, with Jake Trainor and Paul Scally following.

New England Supermodified Series

The NESS had a Saturday night show at the White Mountain (N.H.) Speedway and Dan Bowes, Jeffrey Battle and Bobby Timmons were the top three supers.

The companion feature for SMAC 350 supermods was rained out.

Other winners

Eric Leet won at Thunder Mountain, Brent Tonkin took the mod main at Afton, Danny Creeden won at Orange County Fair and John Virgilio (big-block) and Joey Cappola (small-block) were the winners at Lebanon Valley.

Fonda modified special tonight

The rained-out July 4th Firecracker 100 Short Track Super Series M special at the Fonda Speedway has been rescheduled for tonight at 7 p.m.

The 50-lap main event for the mods carries a $10,000 first-place prize. A $2,000-to-win sportsman event is also on the schedule and race time is 7 p.m.

If you purchase a product or register for an account through one of the links on our site, we may receive compensation. By browsing this site, we may share your information with our social media partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.